Research post #1 – What are infographics?

As I ponder infographic topics I thought it seemed appropriate at this point to research what makes a good infographic. I hope this will help me decide for myself, what topic would be most effective.

In a nutshell, infographics are graphic representations of information- easy! The aim is to convey complex information in an imaginative and easy to digest way that helps people quickly understand a subject without sifting through bland writing and statistics. They integrate graphic design elements, images and content to create a standalone source of information.

I found this cool infographic conveying the 10 rules of creating good infographics:

10rulesinfographic

Goals, audience, story, relevance, research, persuasive headers, design, social sharing, citations and conclusions are the 10 important elements they claim. However, they also give a simple equation on the website for a good infographic…..

Information + Story + Design = Infographics.

So with this in mind, I still must decide on an assignment topic! I am concerned my ideas so far may be a little too complex to break down into an A4 infographic. However, I also realise the whole point is to simplify complex information for easy and interesting understanding. So I think the important thing in choosing a topic is to think about how I can use visual representations and icons to simplify my ideas and make them interesting to learn about.

Sources:

Adams, D. (2011, March 25). What are infographics and why are they important? Retrieved from: http://www.instantshift.com/2011/03/25/what-are-infographics-and-why-are-they-important/

http://www.avalancheinfographics.com/portfolios/10-rules-about-infographic

Plus information presented in week 1 workshop.

One thought on “Research post #1 – What are infographics?

  1. somenamenotused says:

    I find it very interesting that you took the time to define infographics, I am sure this is the perfect starting point.
    Regarding your statement about simplifying complex information: I generally agree, infographics should present bite-sized facts on a particular topic which are easy to swallow and don’t really take up much time. Be careful not to oversimplify your topic though!

    Like

Leave a Reply

