Research post #2 – Typography

Now that I have decided on a topic and started working on designs, I think it is a good time to look at how typography can be used to enhance my infographic.

They say pictures say a thousand words, but ironically, so can words…..when they are designed well!

Typography is the art of designing and arranging type to make it readable, attractive and give it meaning beyond the word itself (. It includes adjusting the spacing of characters and lines (kerning and leading) and tweaking the anatomy of the letters. This infographic was useful in helping me understand this anatomy, as it is quite technical!

Typographic_Anatomy_by_morowhitewolf

Essentially, typography helps grab and hold viewer attention, makes writing legible and adds meaning, even giving feeling, to the words on the page.

Here are a few infographics that I believe have used typography well to illustrate their topics:

infographics-design-inspirationinfographic_designs_1 typographic_elephant-infographic

In the first one I really like how the word collide uses arrows to illustrate a collision. It is really simple but quite effective. In the gelato infographic the word “artisan” is illustrated nicely through the use of a more elegant font. Throughout this one, the size of the words also brings attention to the most important parts and the words are arranged to fit very square spaces, making it easily read. The elephant image shows how the sizing and spacing of characters and words can be very intricately manipulated to create and artistic message, combining words and image.

I have now started thinking about what types of fonts I would like to use in my infographic to enhance it’s messages. I am also thinking about how I can arrange the words I use to be most effective. After a little searching I have found a few cool fonts that fit with my theme of hypnosis, including

Lastly, this font is readable while incorporating a little haze. It again illustrates hypnosis quite nicely but I would definitely restrict it's use to the main title, as it would be easy to overdo this font.

This font is readable while incorporating a little haze. It again illustrates hypnosis quite nicely but I would definitely restrict it’s use to the main title, as it would be easy to overdo this font.

….

I like the wavering letters used here, it would illustrate the altered consciousness in hypnosis

I like the wavering letters used here, it would illustrate the altered consciousness in hypnosis. It sill looks quite sharp however and is easily read.

Although clever, this is much too busy and hard to read for my liking

Although clever, this is much too busy and hard to read for my liking. Perhaps it would be okay for one letter in a title, the ‘o’ for example.

Sources:

http://practicaltypography.com/why-does-typography-matter.html

http://www.commarts.com/Columns.aspx?pub=5566&pageid=1596

Leave a Reply

