WIP #3 – From paper to infographic…

This week has been all about me trying to find my feet on illustrator. It hasn’t been easy but I think I am getting it now!

I have started to use shapes and vectors to create my layout and my icons. The first thing I did was use various sized circles to create my basic map, making sure everything was centered. I then watched a tutorial on how to create a cool spiral for the middle, and added my title text using the ‘type on a path’ tool.

For the rest of the week I have been brainstorming possible icons and finding ways to create them using illustrator. Most are traced from pictures from flickr, however the signs and the warped clock were just made using simple shapes and the direct select tool to alter them as needed.

One thing I have struggled with is arranging everything into a circle shape, but I think it is better to do this properly once I have made all of my icons. Then I can make sure the spacing and sizing of everything looks right. I have also struggled a little keeping my layers organized…there are so many!

I haven’t started looking at fonts and typography as of yet, again I think this will be easier once I have more to work with.

Excuse the slight mess of icons and words on the page, but here are a few progress pics from throughout the week:

Screen Shot 2015-05-16 at 8.12.56 PM Screen Shot 2015-05-19 at 9.06.11 PM

Screen Shot 2015-05-23 at 5.42.46 PM

Leave a Reply

